Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Jewish Business News


Europe Adds New ETIAS Entry Fee From 2023

Starting in May 2023, visa-exempt passengers will be required to apply ETIAS at the cost of €7/$7.50 to enter 26 European countries

Business Traveller/ RF123 - ILLUSTRATION
Pay to Travel EU countries

Beginning in May 2023, visa-exempt passengers will be required to apply for the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) at the cost of €7/$7.50 to enter any of the 26 European countries included in the program. 

The European Commission has reaffirmed that ETIAS will apply to the EU Member States that are not members of the Schengen Area, namely Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Romania.

This means that nationals of visa-exempt third countries flying to certain EU countries will also be required to apply for ETIAS in advance. for example, Ireland is not a member of the Schengen Area and has no present plans to join, hence ETIAS is not relevant to visa-exempt travelers visiting Ireland.

Please help us out :
Will you offer us a hand? Every gift, regardless of size, fuels our future.
Your critical contribution enables us to maintain our independence from shareholders or wealthy owners, allowing us to keep up reporting without bias. It means we can continue to make Jewish Business News available to everyone.
You can support us for as little as $1 via PayPal at
Thank you.

Before the establishment of ETIAS, visa-free travel to Europe was available to visitors from over 60 countries. Due to a safety strategy to detect security, irregular migration, and high epidemic threats posed by visa-exempt visitors to the Schengen States, while facilitating border clearance for the great majority of tourists who do not pose such concerns. The EU will use ETIAS to monitor the flow of travelers within the Schengen Area’s member states.  

ETIAS is nearly fully automated, and applications may be processed and returned within minutes, as opposed to a visa system that requires extensive human participation for application evaluations. In the event that a candidate is denied, he or she may appeal for a manual review. Upon implementation, the ETIAS authorization will be required for entry into the Schengen Area 

The list of countries you will need to pay for entry. It is expected that Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Romania will sign on eventually:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco (micro state)
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • San Marino (micro state)
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Vatican City (micro state)



You May Also Like

World News

In the 15th Nov 2015 edition of Israel’s good news, the highlights include:   ·         A new Israeli treatment brings hope to relapsed leukemia...


The Movie The Professional is what made Natalie Portman a Lolita.


After two decades without a rating system in Israel, at the end of 2012 an international tender for hotel rating was published.  Invited to place bids...

VC, Investments

You may not become a millionaire, but there is a lot to learn from George Soros.