Published On: Sun, Jun 28th, 2015

Facebook Celebrates Gay Marriage Decision

It also offers new ways to get rid of abusive posts.


Mark Zuckerberg rainbow

In celebration of the U.S. Supreme Court decision on Friday declaring gay marriage to be a constitutional right, Facebook has added a new feature that allows users to “rainbow” their profile pictures. Millions have already taken advantage of it.

Called “Let’s Celebrate Pride, ” the new feature will automatically place a rainbow filter over a user’s profile picture. It takes just the touch of a button. The feature is also intended to celebrate LGBT Pride Month. “From all of us at Facebook, happy Pride!” the website states.

Mr. Zuckerberg himself took advantage of the feature and posted, “Our country was founded on the promise that all people are created equal, and today we took another step towards achieving that promise. I’m so happy for all of my friends and everyone in our community who can finally celebrate their love and be recognized as equal couples under the law.
We still have much more to do to achieve full equality for everyone in our community, but we are moving in the right direction.”

Meanwhile, the company is also giving people new ways to deal with abusive posts. You know the ones. Some people think that if you have a Facebook page then that is an open invitation to write whatever they want on it. All you have to do is hide a post that you do not like. You can also unfollow it.

Users can also organize their friends lists to limit what they receive and who can post on their pages. After all, in life we tend to rate friends by the level of how close we are to them. So these are the three levels Facebook offers:

  • Close Friends: You can add your best friends to this list to see more of them in your News Feed and get notified each time they post. You also have the option to turn these extra notifications off.
  • Acquaintances: This list is for friends you don’t need to stay in close touch with. People on your acquaintances list will rarely show up in your News Feed. You can also choose to exclude these people when you post something, by choosing Friends except Acquaintances in the audience selector.
  • Restricted: This list is for people you’ve added as a friend but just don’t want to share with, like your boss. When you add someone to your Restricted list, they will only be able to see your Public content or posts of yours that you tag them in.
Read more about: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Wordpress site Developed by Fixing WordPress Problems