Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Jewish Business News

World News

Israel President Rivlin’s UN Holocaust Address Delayed by Blizzard

President Rivlin

The big New York City/Northeastern US snow storm of 2015 has forced the UN to delay its ceremonies to commemorate International Holocaust Day. Due to the bad weather on the US East Coast, Israel’s President Rivlin will now make his address to the United Nations International Holocaust Remembrance Day Special Session on Wednesday, 28 January beginning at 12:00noon EST (7 PM Israel).

The date chosen for the annual commemoration of the Holocaust is the day on which the Auschwitz concentration camp – considered the worst since more Jews were murdered there than at any other — was liberated. This year’s ceremonies around the world have taken on special significance because it is the 70th anniversary of that event.

President Rivlin’s speech will be broadcast live (at 12:11 EST / 19:11 Israel). Others addressing the ceremony will include UN Gen. Sec. Ban Ki-moon, Chairman of Yad Vashem, Avner Shalev, and Holocaust survivor Ms. Jonah Laks.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Newsletter

Advertisement

You May Also Like

World News

In the 15th Nov 2015 edition of Israel’s good news, the highlights include:   ·         A new Israeli treatment brings hope to relapsed leukemia...

Travel

After two decades without a rating system in Israel, at the end of 2012 an international tender for hotel rating was published.  Invited to place bids...

empty

The contract signed between the Israeli government and Pfizer shows clearly and unequivocally that this is a clinical study on humans - The agreement...

VC, Investments

You may not become a millionaire, but there is a lot to learn from George Soros.

Advertisement
cialis cialis satış