Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Jewish Business News


96-Years Jewish Arthur Ashkin Is Oldest Scientist to Win Nobel Prize

Arthur Ashkin revolutionized eye surgery. He invented “optical tweezers” that grab particles, atoms, viruses and other living cells with laser beam fingers.

BREAKING NEWS⁰The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the #NobelPrize in Physics 2018 “for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics” with one half to Arthur Ashkin and the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland.

— The Nobel Prize (@NobelPrize) October 2, 2018

Please help us out :
Will you offer us a hand? Every gift, regardless of size, fuels our future.
Your critical contribution enables us to maintain our independence from shareholders or wealthy owners, allowing us to keep up reporting without bias. It means we can continue to make Jewish Business News available to everyone.
You can support us for as little as $1 via PayPal at
Thank you.

Among the three researchers who share Nobel Prize in physics for inventions of laser that have paved the way for advanced precision instruments used in corrective eye surgery and industry, there is a 96-Years-old Jewish Scientist – Arthur Ashkin.

The American Arthur Ashkin was honored for his invention of “optical tweezers” that grab particles, atoms, viruses and other living cells with their laser beam fingers.

Ashkin was able to use the radiation pressure of light to move physical objects, “an old dream of science fiction,” the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said.

NOBEL PRIZE laureate Arthur Ashkin / Screen Shot YouTube

For his invention, he won one half of the $1.01 million prize, while Gerard Mourou of France and Donna Strickland of Canada shared the other half for together developing a method to generate ultra-short optical pulses, technique is now used in corrective eye surgery, “the shortest and most intense laser pulses ever created by mankind,” the jury said.

Strickland is the first female Nobel laureate to be named in three years and is only the third woman to have won the physics prize; the first was Marie Curie in 1903.

Also won the Nobel Medicine Prize James Allison of the US and Tasuku Honjo of Japan, for research into how the body’s natural defense to fight cancer.

The announcement of the 2018 Nobel Literature Prize has postponed for the first time since 1949, until next year, due to #MeToo scandal and sever internal dispute that has prevented it from functioning properly.





You May Also Like

World News

In the 15th Nov 2015 edition of Israel’s good news, the highlights include:   ·         A new Israeli treatment brings hope to relapsed leukemia...


The Movie The Professional is what made Natalie Portman a Lolita.


After two decades without a rating system in Israel, at the end of 2012 an international tender for hotel rating was published.  Invited to place bids...

VC, Investments

You may not become a millionaire, but there is a lot to learn from George Soros.