Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Jewish Business News

World News

Israel Joins Asia Infrastructure Investment Bank, Viewed with Disdain by the US

Japan and the United States have not joined for the time being.

Asia Infrastructure Investment Bank

The new Asia Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) is planning to invest $100 billion in infrastructure projects in Asia, half of which will be allocated by China.

More than 40 countries have already announced their intention to join the Bank, which is a Chinese initiative. They include Australia, South Korea, United Kingdom, France, Germany and Italy.

Please help us out :
Will you offer us a hand? Every gift, regardless of size, fuels our future.
Your critical contribution enables us to maintain our independence from shareholders or wealthy owners, allowing us to keep up reporting without bias. It means we can continue to make Jewish Business News available to everyone.
You can support us for as little as $1 via PayPal at
Thank you.

Japan and the United States have not joined for the time being.

A statement released on the Israeli foreign ministry website says Israel’s entry will open opportunities to integrate Israeli companies in infrastructure projects that will be funded by the new Bank.

Washington initially attempted to prevent its allies from joining the bank, which the U.S. sees as undermining the position of the World Bank and the Asian Development Bank. But Washington has had to change its tune after so many countries have joined.

U.S. Treasury Secretary Jack Lew said on Tuesday that Washington would welcome the establishment of AIIB, as long as it would be used to complement existing institutions and adopt high management standards.

The first news reports about the AIIB appeared in October 2013. The Chinese government had been frustrated with what it regarded as the slow pace of reforms and governance, and wanted greater input in global established institutions like the IMF, the World Bank and the Asian Development Bank, which China claims are dominated by American, European and Japanese interests.

An Asian Development Bank Institute 2010 report said that the region requires $8 trillion, to be invested from 2010 to 2020 in infrastructure, to facilitate continued economic development.

In June 2014, China proposed doubling the registered capital of the bank from $50 billion to $100 billion and invited India to participate in the founding of the new institution.

On October 24, 2014, a signing ceremony held in Beijing formally recognized the establishment of the bank. 21 countries signed the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), including China, India, Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, the Philippines, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Brunei, Cambodia, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Laos, Myanmar, Mongolia, Nepal, Oman, Qatar, Sri Lanka, Uzbekistan, and Vietnam.



You May Also Like

World News

In the 15th Nov 2015 edition of Israel’s good news, the highlights include:   ·         A new Israeli treatment brings hope to relapsed leukemia...


The Movie The Professional is what made Natalie Portman a Lolita.


After two decades without a rating system in Israel, at the end of 2012 an international tender for hotel rating was published.  Invited to place bids...

VC, Investments

You may not become a millionaire, but there is a lot to learn from George Soros.